My entry in Who’s Who

This morning, I opened a letter asking me to confirm my proposed entry in Who’s Who. It comprised six lines, with a mixture of contact details, website, and job title. I had to correct any errors, then sign, date and return the form, to an address in Berlin.

This is, of course, another dodgy ‘publisher’, targeting academics and presumably businesses. On the letter head, the word’s Who’s Who are in capitals; below that, in very small print indeed, is the qualifier: In (European) Commerce and Industry. And in very, very small print it emerges that there is a charge of €399, and that the signed form confirming my details is deemed to be a formal order for this service.

Right at the very bottom of the letter are the company’s contact details and – ominously – the ‘Venue of Litigation’. I tried searching for the company – Buchvertrieb Wockel – but could not find a website. Their address is shared with a hairdresser and a Chinese restaurant.

7 thoughts on “My entry in Who’s Who

  1. Hello. My name is Barbara and I work for a non profit Breast Cancer Organisation. We received a letter to check our entry in the Who’s Who publication this summer. we signed the form as it was not clear that it was a paid entry. When I tried to cancel the entry they refused to do so saying we had signed and it was legally binding. They are now threatening to take legal action if we do not pay. I saw your blog entry and wondered if you were in a similar situation. It appears that it is a real registered company in Germany. How did your story end? how did you find out that it shares an address with a Chinese restaurant and Hairdresser? any additional information would be helpful.

    Kind regards,
    Barbara

    ps- I found this letter from a University in Heidelberg that appears they were in a similar situation:
    http://www.zuv.uni-heidelberg.de/md/zuv/recht/rundschreiben_13_warnung.pdf

    • Dear Barbara

      You have my sympathy. The publisher gave an address at 92 Kurfürstendamm, which I checked using Google. The same address also features the Chinese restaurant and (now) a nail studio.

      I hope that you continue to resist.

      John

      • Dear John,

        Now in 2016 I wonder how this story ended. Did you get any problems while not paying? I’m in the same situation at this moment.

        kind regards,

        Bert

    • To Barbara: if you are still following this, did you get problems like legal action while not paying?

      kind regards
      Bert

Leave a Reply

