Wow, now I’m “a Woman of Outstanding Leadership”

Lucky me – I’ve just been selected as a woman of outstanding leadership. I know this because I’ve received an email telling me so, and inviting me to join the International Women’s Leadership Association. But I don’t think I will.

A 1975 Yes to Europe rally.

A woman leader speaking at a 1975 Yes to Europe rally.


The email has three links for me to click on, but I didn’t open them. The warning sign is clear enough: the sender’s address has the suffix .tk, which is the domain name for Tokelau, a territory of New Zealand located in the South Pacific. And a quick check shows a number of complaints about the IWLA.

This is, of course, not the only dodgy invitation I’ve had in the last few years. In fact, my earlier comments on the “Super Professor” nonsense have become far and away my most popular post, with well over 12,500 views to date and a steady flow of comments. I only write about these bizarre invitations as a bit of fun and to warn the unwary; they also allow me to post gratuitous images.

Leave a Reply

