Yet more gongs for leaders in lifelong learning

Every time I publish a post on adult educators and the honours system, generous readers point out the names I managed to miss. Here is the latest crop:

Mary Stuart, vice chancellor of the University of Lincoln

Maggie Dawson, former chief executive of the WEA Cymru, following a long career in adult education in South Wales, has an OBE

Stella Hardy, active as a voluntary officer in the WEA South Eastern District and a member of the Advisory Council on Adult & Continuing Education, received an MBE in 1980.

Rob Humphreys, recently retired as Director of the Open University in Wales where he moved after heading up Dysgu/NIACE Wales following a career in adult education at Swansea University, has a CBE.

Ruth Spellman, who became chief executive of the WEA in 2012, was awarded an OBE in 2007 for services to workplace learning

Mary Stuart, Vice Chancellor at Lincoln University, who formerly worked in the Centre for Continuing Education at Sussex University, was recently awarded a CBE.

in addition, a number of national directors of the OU have been honoured (including Peter Syme in Scotland and Rosemary Hamilton in Northern Ireland) as well as Will Swann, the OU’s director of students.

2 thoughts on “Yet more gongs for leaders in lifelong learning

  1. Helen Osborne Principal of the friends centre MBE this year. I think I said sue Meyer mbe peter lavender OBE and Shiela Carlton obe. Bob F cbe. Alan wells OBE. Arthur stock obe arthur jones cbe. Geoff later OBE for action on access. Usually 1 or at most 2 per honours list – but only exceptionally more than obe. How are you?

    A

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. John
    Back in 1998 I was offered either an MBE or an OBE, I can’t remember which. I do remember quite well the surprise of getting an envelope from Downing Street, and the even larger surprise of being told I was to receive an honour. I was both pleased and bemused but since I did not consider myself as belonging to the British empire, and not wanting to be considered a member, I had no hesitation in declining.
    I may have been offered it because of my work with the WEA, but earlier that year I had chaired the Yes Campaign in the referendum that folllowed the Good Friday Agreement, and at a reception which she hosted to thank us Mo Mowlam had made some comment about honours, so it may have been that. Who knows. It was all a long time ago.

    Best wishes
    Paul

Leave a comment